Media tabs Kentucky as 2013 SEC Women's Basketball ChampioN

3:22 PM, Oct 23, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Kentucky was predicted to win the 2013 Southeastern Conference women's basketball championship in a voting of a select panel of both SEC and national media members.

As the reigning SEC regular season champions, Kentucky returns 10 letterwinners and four starters from last season's NCAA Elite Eight squad, including SEC Player of the Year A'dia Mathies, SEC Freshman of the Year Bria Goss and NCAA Tournament Kingston All-Region team member Samarie Walker.  The Wildcats also welcome back sophomore guard Jennifer O'Neill, who sat out the 2011-12 season due to injury, and junior forward DeNesha Stallworth, an All-Pac-10 selection, will see her first action after sitting out last season due to transfer regulations.

Kentucky tops the order of finish with 376 points, with Georgia (352), Vanderbilt (336), Tennessee (316), Texas A&M (284), LSU (251) and South Carolina (194) rounding out the top half of the league.  Arkansas (168), Florida (144), Auburn (124), Mississippi State (116), Ole Miss (47), Missouri (39) and Alabama (36) round out the bottom half.

Kentucky's A'dia Mathies was the overwhelming choice of the media for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year with 20 votes, the remaining votes were for Vanderbilt's Christina Foggie, Florida's Jennifer George and Georgia's Anne Marie Armstrong. 
Joining Mathies on the All-SEC First Team are Jennifer George, Florida; Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia; Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M; and Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt.

Points were compiled on a 14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis.  Each media member also voted for a five-player All-SEC Team and the Preseason SEC Player of the Year.

The 2012-13 SEC Media Preseason Poll tips off SEC Basketball Media Days, October 25 at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Alabama.  The SEC Women's Basketball Coaches Poll will be released on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Preseason Media Poll
(First-Place Votes in Parentheses)

SEC Champion: Kentucky (20)

Player of the Year: A'dia Mathis (20); Christina Foggie (4); Anne Marie Armstrong (1); Jennifer George (1)

Order of Finish
1. Kentucky (20)                               376
2. Georgia (1)                                     352
3. Vanderbilt (2)                               336
4. Tennessee (2)                              316
5. Texas A&M (1)                             284
6. LSU                                                    251
7. South Carolina                              194
8. Arkansas                                         168
9. Florida                                              144
10. Auburn                                          124        
11. Mississippi State                        116        
12. Ole Miss                                        47
13. Missouri                                        39
14. Alabama                                       36

Jennifer George, Florida
Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia
A'dia Mathies, Kentukcy
Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M
Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt

Sarah Watkins, Arkansas
Jasmine Hassell, Georgia
Samarie Walker, Kentucky
Ieasia Walker, South Carolina
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee

Most Watched Videos