LIVE VIDEO: 10 News Daybreak    Watch

Broadcaster Dierdorf retiring after season

12:02 PM, Nov 20, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

New York, NY ( - Dan Dierdorf is retiring from broadcasting after a 30-year stint in the NFL booth following this season.

Dierdorf has spent the last 43 seasons involved in the NFL. He currently teams with Greg Gumbel for NFL on CBS coverage.

During a 13-year career with the St. Louis Cardinals from 1971-83, Dierdorf was named All-Pro six times, was selected as the NFL's top offensive lineman three times and was voted to the NFL Team of the Decade for the 1970s. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1996.

He began his NFL broadcasting career in 1984, the year after retirement from playing, as a color analyst for KMOX's Radio coverage of the St. Louis Cardinals and NFL games for CBS Radio Network. He was a play-by-play announcer for the NFL on CBS broadcasts in 1985 before switching to color analysis in 1986. In 1987 Dierdorf joined ABC Sports' "Monday Night Football" for 12 years, before returning to CBS Sports in 1999.

"I have been blessed to spend my entire life in the game I love," said Dierdorf. "I had an opportunity to go from the field directly to the broadcast booth where I have had the privilege of working with the giants of our business including Ray Scott, Lindsey Nelson, Jack Buck, Dick Stockton, Al Michaels, Frank Gifford, Verne Lundquist, Dick Enberg and lastly, my partner, Greg Gumbel. It has become a challenge for me to travel to a different NFL city every week, so it's time to step aside. This has been a wonderful ride as I really have lived the dream."

Dierdorf was the 2008 recipient of the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award, given annually given by the Pro Football Hall of Fame in recognition of "long-time exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football." He joins Frank Gifford, John Madden and Len Dawson as the only members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame to also have won the Rozelle Award.

The Sports Network

Most Watched Videos